CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Financing Health Care Reform

A Plan to Ensure the Cost of Reform Is Budget-Neutral

SOURCE: iStockphoto

We need to modernize the medical care system so that it costs less and delivers more in terms of quality care.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Read the full report (pdf)

Financing issues are among the most difficult problems in health care. Because of the deteriorating federal budget, health care reform needs to be budget-neutral over the course of the next decade. After that interval, health reform needs to reduce projected deficits, or the budgetary situation will become untenable. To make this happen, health care reform needs to insure that all Americans have health insurance coverage.

Increasing coverage and saving money requires a complex combination of short- and long-run policies. In this paper, we lay out a set of policies that focus particularly on how the medical care system can be modernized so that it costs less and delivers more in terms of quality care. Alongside these policy proposals, we present options for guaranteeing the budget neutrality of health care reform through a series of “failsafe” policy proposals that could be implemented as needed.

Read the full report (pdf)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org