CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Case For Meaningful Use: Strengthened, Not Weakened

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last week the Archives of Internal Medicine published a study that calls into question the value of electronic health records, or EHRs, clinical decision support, and the federal “meaningful use” program, which provides financial incentives to physicians and hospitals who adopt EHRs and use them in ways which should improve care.  A close look reveals the study’s conclusions are unsound. But the study brings up several points on health IT and meaningful use that need clarification.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org