CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Does President Obama Really Support an ‘All-of-the-Above’ Energy Strategy?

Testimony Before the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

SOURCE: Center for American Progress

CAP Senior Fellow Daniel J. Weiss testifies before the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform. Read the full testimony (CAP Action)

Chairman Issa, Ranking Member Cummings, and members of the committee, thank you very much for the opportunity to testify today.

I am Daniel J. Weiss, a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress Action Fund, a tax-exempt organization dedicated to progressive values and ideas.

The question posed for this hearing is, “Does President Obama really support an ‘all of the above’ energy strategy?”

What is an “all of the above” energy strategy? To most Americans, it means we must do three things:

  • Develop the energy resources of today while using them more efficiently.
  • Invest in the new, cleaner technologies of tomorrow.
  • Reduce the public health threat from pollution generated by producing and burning coal, oil, and natural gas.

We just heard all the rhetoric. Let’s review the Obama record on the “all of the above” energy strategy checklist.

CAP Senior Fellow Daniel J. Weiss testifies before the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform. Read the full testimony (CAP Action)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org