CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Energy First for Congress, Then Immigration

Scheduling Concerns Delay Action

SOURCE: AP/Harry Hamburg

The Senate must put drama aside and move forward on comprehensive immigration reform as well as a climate and energy bill.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The great debate over the scheduling of comprehensive immigration reform versus clean energy and climate legislation has engulfed Washington. Lost in that frenzy is the need for Congress to do both.

The Senate now has a clear schedule for consideration: the energy and climate bill followed by immigration reform. The consternation and anxiety—and even the threats—surrounding the schedule must now come to an end so we can solve these critical problems.

It is obvious that energy and climate legislation is further along in the legislative process than immigration reform. The Environmental Protection Agency is doing its assessment of the bill and it should be ready for Senate consideration within weeks. This gives leadership, sponsors, and supporters time to secure 60 votes.

Comprehensive immigration reform is no less worthy of consideration but needs more time to develop legislatively. The passage of draconian legislation in Arizona amplifies the demand for a prompt federal solution. Constructing immigration reform that can garner bipartisan support can’t be done in a matter of days but it’s critical that the process be accelerated and we move to it this year.

Given this path forward it is time for senators and interest groups alike to put an end to the histrionics and get to work.

John D. Podesta is President and CEO of American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org