CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Interactive Map: The Tool Belt Recession

Construction Industry Is Hit Hard

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

 

A new memo from the Center for American Progress and the Home Performance Resource Center looks at the decline in construction and construction-related employment during the current recession. The analysis finds that there has been massive job loss in these industries along with significant unused capacity in the product manufacturers serving the industry. The burgeoning home efficiency retrofit industry represents an opportunity to start putting these workers back on the job.

The map above breaks down declines in construction employment by state from peak levels to December 2009. Scroll over a state to see the percent decline in construction employment in that state, the peak employment, and the current employment.

Read also:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org