CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Economist Debate Series: Global Energy Crisis

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The bad news is we can’t wait for breakthroughs to solve our energy problems. The good news is we don’t have to.

"If there’s no action before 2012, that’s too late. What we do in the next two to three years will determine our future. This is the defining moment."1

Those are the words of Rajendra Pachauri, the head of the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) last November after the release of the IPCC’s definitive scientific synthesis report on the state of the site of the understanding of climate change.

And Mr Pachauri is no alarmist. Indeed, the Bush administration successfully lobbied to install the engineer and economist as IPCC chair in 2002 after forcing out the outspoken Mr Robert Watson. But IPCC chairs aren’t born alarmists—a sober study of the facts makes them that way.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org