CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

General: Archives

We Should Oppose Efforts to Allow the Export of Domestically Produced Oil

Lifting the ban on crude oil exports could threaten our energy security and raise our gasoline prices.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Extreme Weather Threatens American Cities

Without investing in resilience programs, cities affected by the rise in extreme weather events will suffer economic hardship.

Monday, January 27, 2014

Comparing Health Care Effectiveness

The Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute should rapidly increase investment in comparative effectiveness research.

Friday, January 24, 2014

Interpreting the Oil Industry’s Dubious Job Claims

Big Oil's inflated job numbers do not justify its longstanding tax breaks.

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Ending Mass Digital Data Collection

The president should immediately suspend the bulk collection of our call records.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Teachers Have Not Been Stripped of Their Autonomy

Despite recent reforms, teachers have reported that they are largely satisfied in their jobs.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

How to Finance a Greener Future

New York is the latest on a growing list of state and municipal governments to establish green banks.

Friday, January 17, 2014

How to Make College Affordable

We need to alleviate student-loan debt and make sure that all Americans have the opportunity to succeed in higher education.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Emergency Unemployment Insurance Is Critically Important to LGBT Americans

LGBT Americans experience disproportionately high rates of unemployment and poverty.

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Women Have the Right to Access Contraceptive Care

Employers should not be allowed to decide whether their female employees have access to contraceptive care.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Congress Needs to Extend Unemployment Insurance

It would be unprecedented and unwise for Congress to allow unemployment insurance to expire while long-term unemployment is this high.

Monday, January 13, 2014

Major Immigration Laws the House Passed in an Election Year

There is plenty of time this year for the House of Representatives to pass immigration reform.

Friday, January 10, 2014

Taxing Offshore Corporate Profits

Offshore corporate profits need to be taxed, not "repatriated."

Thursday, January 9, 2014

After the War on Poverty

A major new study of public attitudes about poverty, work, and economic opportunity reveals that many Americans still suffer from economic hardship and desire new efforts to provide low-income families with good-paying jobs, greater access to education, and more-supportive communities in which to raise their children.

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Learning from the War on Poverty

On the 50th anniversary of the War on Poverty, it’s time to apply the lessons learned to today’s economic and social challenges in order to usher in a new era of shared prosperity.

Tuesday, January 7, 2014