CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Emergency Unemployment Insurance Is Critically Important to LGBT Americans

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

idea light bulb

The Senate voted last week to begin debate on whether to extend emergency unemployment insurance for the 3.1 million Americans who have recently lost or are set to lose necessary benefits in the coming months. Without congressional action, an estimated 72,000 unemployed workers are expected to lose benefits each week of 2014. This issue is of critical importance to the country’s lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, or LGBT, community, which experiences high rates of unemployment and poverty and includes families that are trying just as hard as others to make ends meet during the economic recovery.

nonpartisan group of analysts has already confirmed that extending unemployment insurance makes fiscal sense. Other economists predict that enacting such a policy will raise our gross domestic product, or GDP, by 0.4 percent in the first quarter of 2014, and help Americans get back to work. As our economy struggles to add jobs, it’s time for members of Congress to ensure that all Americans endeavoring to get back on their feet are able to provide their families with food, shelter, and heat during the peak of winter.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here