CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: What to Expect from Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s Meeting with the President Today

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Despite ongoing turmoil in the Middle East, the Obama administration continues its steady pursuit of a foreign policy makeover, reorienting its attention and resources to the Asia-Pacific—specifically India. Following a number of high-level visits by American officials to India, including Vice President Joe Biden’s trip in July and Secretary of State John Kerry’s trip in June, Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will meet with President Barack Obama today during his second official trip to Washington as prime minister.

During the meeting, President Obama and Prime Minister Singh will likely focus on the following six issues in the U.S.-India relationship:

  • Trade and investment
  • Defense cooperation
  • The U.S.-India civil nuclear deal
  • Climate change and clean energy
  • Immigration reform
  • Security issues and the strategic partnership

For more on the topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here