CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: The Interior Department Still Has to Face Hurdles to Meet Its Renewables Goal

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

It took a little less than four years for the Obama administration to reach its goal of authorizing 10,000 megawatts’ worth of renewable-energy projects on federal land, attaining that milestone in October 2012 with the approval of the 1,000-turbine, 3,000-megawatt Chokecherry and Sierra Madre Wind Energy Project in Wyoming.

In June of this year, President Barack Obama doubled down on that achievement by unveiling his comprehensive Climate Action Plan. As part of that effort, the president directed the Department of the Interior to permit another 10,000 megawatts’ worth of renewable-electricity projects on public lands. Together, the 20,000 megawatts of renewable energy generated by these projects would provide enough clean, inexhaustible power for 6 million homes and vividly demonstrate the critical role that clean energy development on public lands can play in the fight against climate change.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here