CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: How Pakistan’s Prime Minister Can Embrace the Country’s Potential

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Pakistan’s historic election on May 11, 2013, has given Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s center-right political party, the Pakistan Muslim League, a decisive mandate to form a new government. The former and now re-elected prime minister can learn from his considerable experiences in government and as a successful businessman to embrace the country’s enormous potential by focusing on trade, infrastructure, and reducing tensions on Pakistan’s borders.

This critical moment in South Asia must be seized for both the young college graduate in Lahore looking for employment and for the rest of the world that looks at headlines from this region with increasing trepidation. While the challenges facing the nation remain daunting, the first transition of power between two democratically elected governments in Pakistan’s history gives hope for a new, more enlightened course of action that will improve the quality of life for hundreds of millions of people and create hope for more amicable interactions between India and Pakistan.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here