CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Voters Do Not Want Campaign Cash to Influence Judicial Elections

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

A new poll commissioned by the Center for American Progress and conducted by Harstad Strategic Research found that 80 percent of voters support stronger disclosure laws for judicial campaigns, and this level of support is consistent among Democrats, Republicans, and independents. Voters across the political spectrum want to know who is paying for ads that attack judicial candidates, but in many states, disclosure laws do not apply to some ads that criticize candidates during an election.

The 2012 election saw record-breaking spending, as special interests poured billions of dollars into super PACs and secretive nonprofits that ran ads supporting or attacking candidates. At the state level, a record $29.7 million was spent to influence judicial elections across the country, according to estimates released by Justice at Stake and the Brennan Center for Justice in December 2012. Half of this money was spent by nonprofit organizations that often do not disclose their donors. In the wake of this surge in campaign cash, some states are looking to reform their judicial elections to minimize the influence of campaign cash or at least shed some light on secret campaign contributions.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here