CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: How Fiscal Austerity Is Hurting America’s Long-Term Economic Prospects

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Since the 2010 midterm elections, a new wave of politicians in Washington has steered the fiscal side of economic policymaking in the wrong direction. They moved away from policies such as the 2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act and countless smaller policies that stopped the Great Recession and that began paving a path toward a jobs- and investment-led recovery.

Instead, for the past two and a half years, we’ve been steered toward a path of spending cuts and fiscal contraction. That path is costing America billions of dollars and millions of jobs that have great economic potential.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here