CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Same-Sex Military Spouses Deserve Complete Access to Military Benefits

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Any day now, the Pentagon is expected to extend new benefits to the spouses of gay service members. Although the Defense of Marriage Act—the law that defines marriage as a union between one man and one woman for the purposes of the federal government—prevents the military from extending at least 93 statutory benefits to military members in same-sex marriages, there are a number of benefits that can be conferred even while the Defense of Marriage Act remains law. Since the full repeal of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” more than a year ago, military families headed by same-sex spouses have been barred from accessing these legally available benefit programs and support services.

In a letter to U.S. Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta in 2011, OutServe-SLDN, an organization representing actively serving gay military personnel, provided a comprehensive list of benefits that could be extended to military members in same-sex marriages independent of Supreme Court or congressional proceedings on the Defense of Marriage Act. The Pentagon should immediately revise its rules to ensure equitable access to military benefits for gay service members and their families to the extent possible under the law. Anything less than complete access to these benefits means that gay service members and their families will continue to face harmful and unnecessary discrimination by the U.S. military.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here