CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: How to Promote U.S. Interests and Values in Egypt

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Violent clashes in Egypt during the past week underscored how fragile the overall situation remains in the Middle East’s largest country. The deterioration in Egypt couldn’t come at a worse time of upheaval across the Middle East, as Syria’s civil war rages, threats from Al Qaeda-affiliated groups stretch from the Persian Gulf region to North Africa, and Iran moves to undermine regional stability.

The United States needs to remain engaged in efforts to influence the political and economic transition in Egypt, as well as bolster security there. Both actions will require continued support for a full range of U.S. policy tools—such as the approximately $1.5 billion per year in security and economic assistance—and a more robust diplomatic engagement with the multiple centers of power that have emerged in Egypt during the past two years. U.S. assistance and support for Egypt must be reformed in the long run to reflect new realities. As incoming Secretary of State John Kerry recently stressed, however, now is not the time to rashly cut off support to Egypt. Clearly, Egypt’s people and leaders will determine its trajectory, but the United States can play a positive role in shaping outcomes.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here