CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Changing State Tenure Statutes to Incorporate Teacher Effectiveness Data

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Every state except Wisconsin currently mandates that school districts grant tenure to teachers, yet only two states—Iowa and New Mexico—require districts to consider any evidence of teacher effectiveness as part of the tenure decision. This situation is simply untenable. States may reasonably differ in how they define and measure teaching effectiveness; in particular, they may place different emphasis on the importance of student scores on standardized achievement tests.

But states that refuse to include any measure of teacher effectiveness in their tenure process—or block districts from doing so—should be ineligible for discretionary federal education funding. The Obama administration has indicated that it intends to use the Race to the Top Fund and existing ESEA programs in this manner. The National Council of State Legislature’s Michelle Exstrom remarked that, “States have heard very directly from President [Barack] Obama and Secretary [Arne] Duncan that they would like to see tenure reform.”

For more information please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here