CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Mr. President: To Reduce Inequality, Good Job Creation Is a Must

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

President Obama’s primary objective for the sixth year of his presidency was laid bare on Tuesday night: Fight the insidious scourge of inequality in the United States, which has now reached levels unseen since the Gilded Age.

Obama’s goal is the right one. Inequality endangers democratic institutions, limits economic mobility, and — as recent research has shown — can be damaging to economic growth. The most sustainable and reliable approach to stemming high levels of inequality is promoting the creation of high-quality jobs.

Why? Because unemployment, especially the shortage of high-quality jobs, is a main driver of inequality. Long-term unemployment leads to an erosion of skills, diminishing wage prospects and economic mobility, fueling inequality.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org