CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

America needs more national parks

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The House Republicans’ 16-day government shutdown cost the economy $24 billion, shaved .25 percent from fourth-quarter economic growth and damaged the reputation of the United States.

But for many Americans, it was the closure of 401 national parks and monuments that brought the shutdown home. Each day of the shutdown, communities near parks lost an estimated total of $76 million in economic activity.

Of the many lessons our leaders ought to learn from the shutdown, this one is central: America’s parks are a national treasure and a crucial economic engine for many parts of the country. Elected leaders should take swift action to open new parks, wildlife refuges, monuments and recreation and wilderness areas for the enjoyment of the public instead of slashing budgets, laying off rangers and closing parks.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Politico.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org