CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Navy not being straight about new destroyer

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In rolling out the first ship of the DDG-1000 Zumwalt-Class destroyer, the U.S. Navy has claimed repeatedly that the program is on time and on budget.  Unfortunately, this claim—which has been picked up by the mainstream media, including the Washington Post—is both misleading and disingenuous.

The program actually started 20 years ago in 1994 and originally envisioned building 32 ships at a total cost of $35.8 billion, or about $1.12 billion per ship.  The program had so many problems in research and development over the years that in order to keep overall program costs down the program quantity was reduced over the past two decades to 24 planned ships, then 7, and finally the 3 ships we have today (one completed, two still under construction).

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Hill.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org