CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Government Shutdown and the Judicial System

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Legal experts spoke about the impact of the government shutdown on the federal judiciary and the U.S. Department of Justice. The forum was sponsored by Democratic members of the House Judiciary Committee.

Scott Lilly, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress and former director of the House Appropriations Committee, was one of the speakers at the forum. His remarks start at 1:01:25 in the video at the link below.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in C-SPAN.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org