CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

California can lead the way on diversity

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In the lean years after World War II, when 1 out of 4 people in the state lived in poverty, California made a shrewd decision.

Building world-class public schools and strong infrastructure was the way to invest in people across the state. And it worked: By 1960, Californians had a 25 percent advantage in income and education compared with the rest of the country. Indeed, a 1962 Newsweek cover proclaimed: “No. 1 State: Booming, Beautiful California.”

Read more here.

This article was originally published in San Francisco Chronicle.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org