CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Win-Win Situation: An All-In Nation Of Racial Equality Fosters Economic Prosperity

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

If you knew you could do the right thing and personally benefit from it, would you do it? I am willing to bet most of us would.

Last week, the Center for American Progress and PolicyLink released a book, All-In Nation: An America That Works for All, which argues that if we reduced racial inequalities, we would benefit economically both individually and as a nation. The analysis shows that if Latinos and African-Americans would have closed the income gap with whites in 2011, average personal incomes would have been 8 percent higher; the national GDP would have increased by 1.2 trillion; 13 million people would have been lifted out of poverty; we would have an additional 192 billion in tax revenue and reduce the social security deficits in the long run by more than 10 percent.

Sounds like a good deal?  You bet it does. Closing racial gaps is a win-win; there are no trade-offs, only positive outcomes.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Fox News Latino.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org