CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Family Policy: The Foundation of a Middle-Out Agenda

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

For middle-out economics to gain purchase in the public sphere as the progressive alternative to supply-side economics, it has to consist of more than a slogan. It has to be right on the economics and provide a clear policy direction. Focusing on the economic challenges of the middle class offers both the empirical justification and the policy direction for a progressive agenda. No set of policies is more central to making middle-out economics concrete and appealing to the American people than those designed to help middle-class families.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Democracy: A Journal of Ideas.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org