CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Relentlessly high youth unemployment is a global time bomb

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The June jobs report pointed to the continuation of a slow – but persistent – economic recovery in the United States. But the youth unemployment rate remains about double the overall rate, with about 16% of young people who want to work unable to find a job. In the US and countries around the world, relentlessly high youth unemployment threatens the futures of individuals and the broader economy.

Youth, between the ages of 15 and 24, make up 17% of the global population but 40% of the unemployed, a figure that doesn’t include those enrolled in school. The Middle East and North Africa region has the highest youth unemployment rate, with one in four young people unemployed, driving social unrest. Youth unemployment is even higher in some parts of Europe, where more than 50% of young people in Greece and Spain are out of work.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Guardian.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org