CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Supreme Court in 2013: Equal Justice Under Law?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Equal Justice Under Law. Those are the words carved in white Vermont marble on the west front of the U.S. Supreme Court building. But last week, the Supreme Court dispensed a version of justice that’s anything but equal for millions of Americans.

We of course have cause to celebrate the marriage equality rulings, and as an openly gay man, and a Californian born and raised in Los Angeles, last week’s Supreme Court decisions on marriage equality were personally meaningful to me, just as they were for so many others in California and across the country. It’s the result of a lot of hard work and courage on the part of many, much that I have personally witnessed, over the last several years.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in HuffPost Politics.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org