CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Fighting Foreclosures With Eminent Domain

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The fight over using eminent domain to prevent foreclosures is on again. Wall Street banks crushed an effort earlier this year by California’s San Bernardino County supervisors—in a community devastated by foreclosures and collapsing home values—with threats of ruinously expensive litigation and a lending boycott.

Despite the bullying, the anti-foreclosure idea has been explored by a number of cities, including North Las Vegas and El Monte, a suburb of Los Angeles. The tactic is simple: Municipalities buy mortgages that are likely to end up in foreclosure and negotiate new mortgages that homeowners can afford.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Wall Street Journal.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org