CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Supreme Court's LGBT Catch-22

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last week the Supreme Court issued two of the greatest wins and setbacks to civil rights we’ve seen in the last 50 years. In ruling key elements of the Defense of Marriage Act unconstitutional, it validated the love I share with my wife and that of other LGBT couples whose relationships have been all but invisible. But instead of opening the floodgates for gay rights to take hold across the country, it may have stalled them, by neutering a key provision of the Voting Rights Act that ended federal oversight of voting-law changes in states with a history of racial discrimination.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Atlantic.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org