CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

U.S. should tread lightly on Iran

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The recent election of Hassan Rohani – who ran on a platform of better relations with the international community – as president of the Islamic Republic of Iran offers the renewed possibility of a diplomatic solution to the impasse over Iran’s nuclear program.

Unfortunately, some in Washington seem determined to repeat past mistakes that could foreclose the possibility of such a solution by escalating pressure and threats against Iran at precisely the moment that a re-invigorated diplomatic outreach would be more advisable. A POLITICO op-ed by Michael O’Hanlon and Marvin Kalb — which contains one serious definitional error, and rests upon a couple of questionable assertions — offers a case in point.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in POLITICO.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org