CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

It's Time to Eliminate Barriers to Safe Pregnancy Prevention

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The morning after pill should be available on store shelves without an age limit. Everyone deserves to have ready access to a backup form of birth control and a second chance to prevent unintended pregnancy.

Emergency contraception is birth control that must be used in an emergency—when a primary method has failed or was not used. It cannot cause an abortion as it will not work if a woman is already pregnant. Emergency contraception can be effective up to three to five days after unprotected sex, but has greater efficacy the sooner it is taken. That is why time is of the essence and women need to be able to obtain it at a moment’s notice.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News & World Report.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org