CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Anti-Abortion Movement Made Gosnell's Crimes Possible

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Only Kermit Gosnell is to blame for the heinous crimes he is alleged to have committed against women seeking abortions, but the tactics and policies of the so-called “Pro Life” movement gave him the opportunity to do so.

While most people thought we said goodbye to “back alley abortionists” when the Supreme Court decided Roe v. Wade, the case that made abortion legal throughout the United States in 1973, anti-abortion activists have worked concertedly over the past 40 years to make abortion as difficult as possible to obtain even if they haven’t been able to officially overturn Roe. Their unfortunate success has meant that for a significant portion of women in this country, often the most marginalized, the promise of safe and legal abortion offered in Roe has never been realized.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Politix.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org