CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Growth Too Fragile to Gamble with Austerity

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

U.S. economic growth rebounded to 2.5% in the first quarter of 2013, according to data released by the Bureau of Economic Analysis this morning.

The nation’s gross domestic product, or GDP — the sum total of goods and services produced by workers and capital in the United States — showed some acceleration over the 0.4% rate in the last quarter of 2012. One percentage point of this growth, or 40% of the first-quarter expansion, however, resulted from the rebuilding of inventories depleted over previous quarters.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in MarketWatch.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org