CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Well-Trained Locals Can Be Vital

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Some have argued that the failure of the Malian army demonstrates that U.S. programs to train foreign troops are hopeless or even dangerous, but this position ignores two factors.

First, the United States trains foreign troops not as an act of charity but to advance its own security. We are training these troops so we do not have to commit our own forces, or so if we are forced to send in U.S. forces they will be supported by local troops.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The New York Times.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org