CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

American Assistance Is Spread Too Widely

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

American military training has long served as the cornerstone of important strategic relationships, enduring officer-to-officer connections and improved performance on the battlefield. But U.S. military training has also churned out more than its share of future coup plotters, human rights abusers and presidents for life.

Washington is always red-faced when this occurs — but never so much so as to change the way it does business. The reasons U.S. training is so hit or miss are not difficult to ascertain, and they stem from three primary causes.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The New York Times.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org