CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Pushing for Peace: Why Congo’s Women Need a Seat at the Table

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As the world celebrates International Women’s Day this year, women in one of the most conflict-plagued corners of the world continue to push for stability and peace on behalf of their families, their communities, and their region. The courageous women of eastern Congo are fighting an uphill battle within a society entrenched in patriarchal norms, which has been slow to recognize the added value that an inclusive process can bring to ensure lasting peace.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Enough.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org