CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Why Sandberg Matters for Real Women

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

It’s obvious that Sheryl Sandberg’s life bears no resemblance to the lives of most women. The double Harvard degrees. Having former Treasury Secretary Larry Summers and Washington Post Company CEO Don Graham as her mentors. The $50 million net worth. The “exceptional” child care, and the helpful staff.

The very, very, very high-achieving, it’s tempting to say, are different from you and me. And in some ways, that’s true. They have different opportunities. They tend to have more money. They tend — dare I stick my neck out to say this? — to have outsized talents, drive, focus, and stamina. They have a clarity of vision and sense of purpose that gets them where they need to go.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in TIME.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org