CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

The Way Out of the Sequester Is Cutting Tax Expenditures

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

With enormous, across-the-board spending cuts bearing down on the country, and with the two parties still miles away from resolving their budget differences, it may seem impossible to avoid the economic and human damage these looming cuts will cause. But there is a way out of this mess. The key is for conservatives in Congress to remember that most of the special tax breaks written into the tax code are really just hidden spending programs.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Daily Beast.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org