CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

What Betty Friedan Saw Coming

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

When Betty Friedan wrote The Feminine Mystique — the now-classic book that turns 50 next week and is generally credited with launching the modern women’s movement in America — unmarried women in more than half the United States weren’t allowed access to contraception. Married women in some states couldn’t sit on juries, get a job without their husband’s permission, or keep control of their property and earnings.

Today that world seems almost quaintly remote: an exotic long-lost era we revisit with love-hate fascination by watching Mad Men. The “happy housewifes heroines” of those years are grandmothers now, and a great many — having found new lives beyond their homes in the 1970s (whether by choice or necessity) — bear little resemblance to the “sweet, simpering and sort of stupid” femininity that Friedan once described as the ideal of her day.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in TIME.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org