CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Universal Preschool Raises Bar for All

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Consider some of the toughest long-term challenges we face today—growing inequality, parents struggling to balance work and family—and an education system in which too many children are falling behind before they even start school. Though these challenges seem daunting, there’s one policy that addresses all of them: universal high-quality preschool. That’s why, though other issues may get more attention, President Barack Obama’s proposal in the State of the Union and his speech Thursday at a Georgia pre-K center are game changers.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Politico.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org