CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Responsibility Doctrine

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In today’s interconnected world, the United States needs partners to help bolster the global economy, prevent the spread of nuclear weapons, stem climate change, alleviate poverty, and destroy terrorist networks. U.S. peace and prosperity very often hinge on getting other countries to step up. This has led the Obama administration to pursue a strategycall it the ‘‘responsibility doctrine’’of prodding other influential nations (especially the pivotal BRICS countries of Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa) to help shoulder the burden of fostering a stable, peaceful world order that delivers security and prosperity. With a more concerted and systematic push than widely recognized, the Obama administration has sought contributions from other nations to help address an extensive range of global challenges. Through incentives, cajoling, and coercion, it has made the pursuit of American-led collective action a hallmark of its foreign policy.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Washington Quarterly.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org