CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

'Middle-out' economics trumped 'trickle-down' on Nov. 6 - Now policies should reflect that

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

One of the most important, but least known, outcomes of the 2012 election is that trickle-down economics was defeated by an emerging theory popularized by President Obama known as “middle-out economics,” which holds that a strong middle class is the key driver of economic growth.

We may now be at a sea-change moment as policymakers in Washington long under the supply-side spell finally have a viable alternative to the failed dogma that merely cutting taxes for the rich will lead to economic growth.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Hill.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org