CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Money Undermines Judges' Impartiality

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

State Supreme Court elections shattered spending records this year, as special interests doled out millions to influence the law. Nearly $28 million was spent on television advertising — more money than in any previous year — and over half of this money came from interest groups independent of the campaigns, according to Justice at Stake. Interest groups spent millions to elect judges they hope will rule in favor of their agendas. This record-breaking spending will raise more questions about judicial impartiality.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in USA Today.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org