CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

A Two-Pronged Approach to Closing Disparities in Public-School Funding

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Now is the time to finally fix the inequity in public-school funding.

Our nation’s minority and low-income students can’t afford to wait any longer for the resources they need—something we have never given them. By underinvesting in our highest-needs students, we have allowed the achievement gap to persist despite knowing that a high-quality education is essential for success in the 21st century.

More than that, there is a particular reason why we must act right now: If we do, we could set the stage for substantial improvements in school-funding equity—using only new dollars.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in National Journal.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org