CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Pentagon Well Positioned for Spending Reduction

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

It is remarkable that in this age of budget austerity, with no existential threat to the United States, the Pentagon could still spend, in real terms, more on average than it did during the George W. Bush, Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush administrations. The Defense Department has largely avoided major cuts to its budget despite the end of the war in Iraq and the beginning of the drawdown in Afghanistan. Even if sequestration goes into effect on Jan. 3, 2013, the Defense Department will spend more than $500 billion in fiscal year 2013, and more than $5 trillion over the next decade.

Despite this reality, defense hawks and contractors have been touting the supposedly “devastating” impact on defense communities, military families and defense workers all over the country. The truth is that there will be no direct impact on military families, since President Obama has exempted military personnel from the cuts. And there will be no impact on defense communities, because bases cannot be closed unless Congress establishes another Base Realignment and Closure Commission, which it has not done since 2005.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in my SA.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org