CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

U.S. Education Must Keep up With China's, India's Bold Programs

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The United States reclaimed the No. 1 spot in the medal count at the 2012 Olympic Games earlier this month, edging out China, the 2008 winner, but in the competition that really matters our nation may not be so successful in the coming decades.

That more important race to educate our children and our workforce to out-compete the rest of the world in an intensely competitive global economy pits us against China and India, both of which are investing heavily in education to gain a long-distance edge over the United States while we handicap our chances with short-sighted policy disputes and political paralysis.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org