CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Leadership Fellow Joins NAACP as Director of Digital Media

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

CAP Leadership Fellow Jamiah Adams was hired as director of the digital media department at the NAACP. Jamiah will be directing the digital strategy behind NAACP campaigns including criminal justice, civic engagement, health, and voter suppression. Campaigns will be run across all digital platforms, including mobile, website, email, social media, and multimedia.

Two particular initiatives—This Is My Vote and The Black Church & HIV—are NAACP microsites under her purvey. This Is My Vote is a civic engagement site that encourages people to register to vote, disseminates voter information, and details the state-by-state battle against voter suppression. The Black Church & HIV is a program led by the NAACP’s health department to provide educational materials to clergy who are fighting HIV in their congregational communities.

Jamiah is excited to parlay her digital experience at the Democratic National Committee, the Service Employees International Union, the New Organizing Institute, and Brave New Foundation with her leadership knowledge from CAP to mobilize communities of color to vote and fight for civil rights in all its forms. She is emboldened by the new NAACP, led by President Ben Jealous, and the association’s coalitions with immigrant rights and marriage equality groups. The NAACP has also made great inroads technically and she looks forward to bringing more digital media innovation to mobilize communities of color around the nation.

The position is based in the NAACP’s Washington office and Jamiah will be running all national campaigns.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in NAACP.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org