CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Conservatives in Congress Stymie Job Gains

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Private employers have added jobs for 28 straight months, proving the resilience of the U.S. economy despite ill-conceived efforts by conservatives in Congress to enforce austerity measures that would surely strangle economic growth. The share of the U.S. population with a job held steady in June as private-sector employers added 84,000 people to their payrolls. Government continued to shed workers, but the pace has slowed considerably, with only 4,000 losing their jobs in June.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in MarketWatch.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org