CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Leadership Institute Attends Presidential Roundtable in South Africa

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The CAP Leadership Institute attended the African Presidential Roundtable 2012 in Johannesburg, South Africa this May. Ambassador Charles Stith, director of the African Presidential Archives and Research Center at Boston University, extended this wonderful opportunity to the Fellows to participate in the Roundtable as official observers. The Roundtable 2012 was a global conversation connecting former African heads of state, diplomats, industry leaders, and international dignitaries in closed-door discussions around the theme of a 21st Century Energy Agenda for Africa.

The issue of energy is one of Africa’s most pressing challenges and the Roundtable presented a rare opportunity to reach key individuals and institutions that can directly impact policy development. Prior to embarking on this trip, Leadership Fellow Alicia Criado outlined some of the energy challenges and opportunities for the African continent in her blog post titled “Flipping The Switch On The Energy Crisis.”

In his article, “A Front Seat to Policymaking in Africa,” Sam Fulwood III, Director of CAP’s Leadership Institute, shared what he and the Fellows learned during their trip to South Africa.

In advance of the Roundtable, the Leadership Institute hosted the former president of Zambia, Rupiah Bwezani Banda, for dinner and a discussion at CAP’s office in Washington, D.C. President Banda was one of 10 former presidents of African nations who made democratic transitions out of office in attendance at the Roundtable.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in African Presidential Roundtable.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org