CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

CAP Leadership Fellow Awarded NGen Fellowship

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Leadership Fellow Alejandro T. Reyes was recently selected as one of the 2012 American Express NGen Fellows. Independent Sector (IS) created this program in 2009 as part of its larger initiative NGen: Moving Nonprofit Leaders from Next to Now. Reyes is one of 12 talented under-40 leaders at an IS member organization who will participate as a Fellow in this 9-month program to build leadership capacity, professional networks and contribute to IS’ work on nonprofit impact.

Reyes is currently counsel with the Legal Mobilization Project at the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law where he works on pressing civil rights issues related to fair housing, voting and immigrant rights. He developed and now leads the Immigrant Rights Initiative, which increases the Lawyers’ Committee’s work on behalf of immigrant populations via impact litigation, public education, and policy advocacy. Prior to this, Reyes was an Equal Justice Works Fellow with Gulfcoast Legal Services, where he advocated on behalf of migrant farmworkers.

Reyes holds a B.A. from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a J.D. from the Howard University School of Law.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Independent Sector.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org