CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

How U.S. Communities Are Facing Racial Conversations Head On

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As we turn into a multicultural society, more and more states in the south are experiencing significant demographic shifts and having to engage (or re-engage) in a conversation about issues related to race and ethnicity.

North Carolina is a microcosm of what is happening at the national level as it mirrors trends both in terms of racial shifts as well as generational gaps. It also offers a valuable lesson on multiracial coalitions coming together to have a necessary dialogue about diversity and its challenges and opportunities.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in NationalJournal.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org