CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Remember Libya?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

When Libya comes up in policy discussions, the conversation quickly moves toward the state of play in Syria, where the regime appears to be upholding a tenuous ceasefire. Reports of attacks against the opposition are ongoing, however, and could quickly unravel the fragile agreement. Meanwhile, in Libya, efforts to consolidate democracy and stabilize the country are under a growing threat.

The Obama administration’s approach to Syria, and its effort to employ coercive multilateral diplomacy, makes sense. Given the perfect storm of threats that underpin that crisis — from direct U.S. national security concerns to escalating regional instability to systematic, brutal attacks on innocent civilians — American engagement is essential. Unfortunately, however, the intractability of the Syrian crisis has pushed a very fragile Libya to the side, long before its time.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org